Snyder, Zydon win in Franklin

FRANKLIN — There will be a new face on the Franklin Borough Council as Gilbert Snyder and Stephon Zydon won their races for seats on the council.
Snyder, the incumbent, got the most votes at 944 and Zydon, who will take over the seat occupied by Councilman Phil Crabb, received 887 votes.
They defeated independent candidates, Corey Hennings and Concetto Formica.
In other locally contested races, Franklin councilwoman Dawn Fantasia and Sparta Mayor Joshua Hertzberg were elected to the Sussex County Board of Chosen Freeholders, defeated Democrats Howard Zatkowski and Patrick Curreri, and independent Newton Mayor Wayne Levante.
Gary R. Chiusano was re-elected as Sussex County Surrogate.
In Hamburg, Joyce Oehler defeated Democrat Almir Osmanovic to finish a two-year unexpired term on the council.
In Hardyston Township, Councilman Carl Miller fought off a challenge from Democrat Michele Van Allen.
In Ogdensburg, Council members David Astor and Rachel Slater were re-elected to the council. Slater is currently the mayor finishing the term of Stephen Ciasullo, and George Hutnick ran unopposed for mayor.
Voters in Lafayette Township passed length of service awards program for township firefighters and EMS members.